Tyrone’s Eileen Jones is the new Ulster Ladies Gaelic President. The Dungannon native took over the reigns earlier today from Michael Naughton who had served the ULGFA as President for the last three years.

Opening proceedings Michael Naughton welcomed delegates from all nine counties and then reflected on his presidency. He wished Eileen well in her new role and offered his support going forward.

Afterwards reports where delivered by Gerry Doherty(Secretary), Paul Swift (PRO), Paddy Donnelly (Registrar and fixtures) and John Joe Brady (Finance) Ciaran Murtagh (Development) and Caroline Brady (Culture and Language).

These reports threw up a number of interesting facts including the following:
• Our facebook page has 8892 followers
• Donegal’s ulster championship win made the front page of the Irish News
• There were over 300 applications for our Gaeltacht scholarships
• There are 243 clubs in the province four more than last year
• Our total membership is 21, 815
• Tyrone has the largest membership with 3576 followed by Donegal with 3275
• All nine counties increased their membership in 2018
• 127 games were played in Ulster competitions
• The first game was on 10th March and the last on 9th December
• 344 girls played in an U14 Blitz back in February

A number of motions, bye laws and recommendations were then debated. A number of these are to be sent forward to the National Congress. Ulster Administrator Ronan Mc Carthy also gave an update on the new Strategic Plan which is to be launched shortly and appealed to all counties to develop their own new plans.
Delegates to Ulster and National sub committees were also ratified.

The following Executive was elected to run ladies football in Ulster in 2019 President – Eileen Jones (Tyrone) Vice President – Hugh Devenney (Donegal) Secretary – Gerry Doherty (Armagh) Assistant Secretary – Martina Dillon (Tyrone) Treasurer – John Joe Brady (Cavan) Assistant Treasurer – Annette Boyle (Armagh) Registrar – Paddy Donnelly (Tyrone) PRO – Paul Swift (Monaghan) Development Officer – Philip O Hare (Down) Culture and Language Officer – Caroline Brady (Donegal)