by Jackie Cahill


Mick Bohan’s Dublin team for Saturday evening’s Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1 clash with Mayo at Croke Park (5.0) shows seven changes to the selection that lined out against Tipperary in round 2 of the competition.

And Bohan’s options are boosted considerably with the return of the last two Senior Players’ Player of the Year winners – team captain Sinéad Aherne and Noelle Healy – to the squad, along with six-time All Star Sinead Goldrick.

Aherne, Healy and Goldrick all feature in a Dublin matchday squad for the first time in 2019, while Bohan has shuffled his pack from the start for a repeat of last year’s Division 1 League final clash with visitors Mayo.

Goalkeeper Rachel Fleming, who made her Dublin senior debut against Tipperary, is replaced by regular netminder and All Star Ciara Trant, while there are six alterations further out the field.

Niamh Collins, Emma McDonagh, Lucy Collins, Hannah O’Neill, Oonagh Whyte and Niamh McEvoy are named in the starting line-up, ahead of Rachel Ruddy, Kate Fitzgibbon, Sarah Fagan, Jennifer Dunne, Carla Rowe and Siobhan Killeen.

Dublin are chasing a second successive victory in 2019 Lidl National League while Mayo are hoping to bounce back from defeat to Donegal last time out.

Mayo boss Peter Leahy has named an unchanged team as Mayo prepare for their first visit to Croke Park since the 2017 TG4 All-Ireland Senior Final.

This game will be screened live on eir sport, and on the channel’s Facebook Page, while viewers can also take in the historic Cork v Tipperary tie on the Ladies Gaelic Football Association Facebook Page.

The Cork ladies will line out on a double-bill alongside their male counterparts for the very first time, as they prepare for a 5pm start at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Manager Ephie Fitzgerald has made just one change to the team that accounted for Westmeath in Round 2, as Shauna Kelly comes in for Marie Ambrose.

Visitors Tipperary, who will be hoping to avoid a third successive defeat, are unchanged from the side that hosted Dublin in Ardfinnan.

On Sunday, the two teams with 100 per cent records in Division 1 are in action.

Galway will hope to make it three wins from three outings when they host Westmeath in Clonberne (12.0).

There are three changes to the team that won against Monaghan in round 2, with Dearbhla Gower replacing the injured Lisa Murphy in goal.

Rabbitte has also included Louise Ward and Sarah Conneally in his starting 15, in place of Aine McDonagh and Lisa Hannon, as they prepare for the visit of unchanged Westmeath.

Donegal are also chasing a third successive victory as they host Ulster rivals Monaghan at O’Donnell Park in Letterkenny (12.0), another fixture that is part of a double-header with the GAA.

Donegal manager Maxi Curran has brought in Tara Hegarty and Roisin Friel for Nicole Gordon and Shannon McGroddy, while bottom of the table Monaghan have made just one change to the team that lost to Galway in round 2, with Lisa Flynn coming in for Casey Treanor.


Cork: M O’Brien (capt.); S Leahy, S Kelly, A Kelleher; D Kiely, M Duggan, E Kiely; A Hutchings, L O’Mahony; A O’Sullivan, N Cotter, O Farmer; E Scally, S O’Leary, O Finn.


Tipperary: L Fitzpatrick; E Buckley, M Curley, E Cronin; B Condon, S Lambert (capt.), C Maher; A.R. Kennedy, E Fitzpatrick; N Lonergan, A Moloney, R Daly; L Dillon, C Condon, S Everard.

Dublin: C Trant; M Byrne, N Collins, E McDonagh; A Kane, S McGrath, L Magee; L Collins, O Carey; N Owens, S Woods, H O’Neill; O Whyte, L Davey, N McEvoy.

Mayo: L Brennan; N O’Malley, R Flynn, D Caldwell; K Sullivan, Ciara McManamon, N Moran; Clodagh McManamon, D Finn; S Cafferky, E Needham, N Kelly (capt.); F Doherty, R Kearns, G Kelly.

Galway: D Gower; M Coyne, S Lynch, F Cooney; S Molloy, L Ward, C Cooney; O Divilly, B Hannon; M Seoighe, T Leonard (capt.), L Coen; R Ní Flahartha, R Leonard, S Conneally.

Westmeath: K Walsh; R Dillon, J Rogers, L Power; F Coyle, K McDermott, F Claffey (capt.); K Boyce-Jordan, V Carr; L McCartan, L Slevin, J Maher; S Dolan, A Jones, M.A. Foley.

Donegal: A Nee; T Hegarty, E Gallagher, N Carr; T Doherty, N McLaughlin, N Boyle; K Herron, M Ryan; R Friel, N Hegarty, A Boyle Carr; G McLaughlin, K Guthrie, C Grant.

Monaghan: B Tierney; L Flynn, N Kerr, H McSkane; S Boyd, A McAnespie, S Coyle; M Atkinson, R Courtney; C McBride, C Courtney (capt.), E McAnespie; E Woods, L Maguire, C McAnespie.