Upwards of 300 people braved the weather on Saturday evening when the Royal Stars took on the Green Stars at Simonstown GAA in the second annual All Star Charity game. Selection was based upon votes received from team managers for every round of the various Championships. This participation from clubs and team managers was central to the process. It identified the most consistent performers throughout the year and has facilitated the fairest possible selection process.

Congratulations and well done to each and every player. The Green Stars Team was selected from the 2018 Junior A, Junior B and Junior C Championships whilst the Royal Stars were selected from the Senior and Intermediate Championships! They have been selected from approximately 1,000 players who took part in the Championships.

Darragh Maloney – RTE Sport and St. Patricks, Stamullen
Orla Byrne – Duleek/Bellewstown
Monica McGuirk – Duleek/Bellewstown
Katie Dowling – St. Patricks

The game was played in a heavy mist which although a bit miserable for the spectators definitely didn’t take away from the football. There was some excellent displays and all this just after the festivities of the last few days! Colm McManus was in charge of the game or so he thought anyway!! The Royal Stars ran out eventual winners but according to the scoreboard it was a draw! All in all it was a great night and approx €2.500 was raised on the night for the ‘’Support Sean Fund’’.

L-R: Kelsey Nesbitt – Simonstown
Orlagh McLaughlin – royal Gaels
Stacey Grimes – Seneschalstown
Darragh Maloney – RTE Sport and St. Patricks, Stamullen

Many thanks to the celebrity ‘’bainisteoirí’’ on the night! Darragh Maloney, Colm O’Rourke and 1994 Ladies All Ireland winner Gillian Bennett took charge of the Green Stars. As Sean Boylan was unable to attend Meath Ladies Manager Eamonn Murray stepped into the breach accompanied by former Meath footballer Kevin Foley and Mandy Shipp who was also on the 1994 Meath Ladies All Ireland winning team!


Thanks to all the Clubs who participated in the ‘Jersey draw’ – Simonstown were picked out of the hat and pick up a full set of jerseys from Masita. Well done to Deirdre Harris who won the half zip top!

Thanks also to Eamonn Dunne of Farm House Foods who sponsored the jerseys.

Thanks to Simonstown GAA for the use of the pitch.

Thanks again to everyone who helped in any way before, during and after the event.

There was plenty of hot food and sandwiches in the clubhouse after the game. The girls were also presented with a medal to commemorate the occasion.

Thirteen of the girls were receiving their second All Star award…..** Below


Green Stars:

Katie Brangan – St. Pats **

Leah Reilly – Rathkenny/Slane

Arlene Smith – Moylagh

Leanne Harris – Simonstown B

Orla Byrne – Duleek/Bellewstown

Tracy King – Dunsany

Niamh O’Kelly-Lynch – Wolfe Tones

Fiona Mahon/O’Rourke – Skryne

Aisling Flynn – Dunboyne B

Ciara Brady – Gaeil Colmcilles

Ellie Brodigan – St. Colmcille B

Megan Thynne – Dunsany **

Sam Bennett – Gaeil Colmcilles

Katie Dowling – St. Pats **

Megan Peters – Kilbride

Monica McGuirk – Duleek/Bellewstown

Aoibheann Leahy – Navan O’Mahonys **

Julie Donnellan – Walterstown

Cara Foley – Clonard

Molly McNamara – Royal Gaels B

Emer Fagan – Na Fianna B


Royal Stars:

Orlagh McLaughlin – ~Royal Gaels

Dee Blaney – Dunboyne

Katie Newe – Ratoath **

Aoife Farrell – Simonstown **

Orla Finnegan – Seneschalstown **

Shauna Ennis – Na Fianna **

Emma Troy – Boardsmill

Maire O’Shaughnessy – Donaghmore/Ashbourne **

Megan O’Brien – St. Michaels

Kelsey Nesbitt – Simonstown

Jackie Shiels – Simonstown

Stacey Grimes – Seneschalstown **

Ger Doherty – St. Ultans **

Joanna Byrne – Oldcastle **

Marion Farrelly – St. Michaels **

Judy Bobbett – Donaghmore/Ashbourne

Jenny Rispin – Summerhill

Seona Lynch – St. Michaels

Orla Deegan – St. Colmcilles

Aideen Smith – Moynalvey

Vivienne McCormack – Clann na nGael